Unconventional Bollywood : Best Five of 2012!

Bollywood without cliche is like pizza without cheese! But exceptions abound, and here goes my  top 5 Hindi films of 2012 where representation from the margins spelled commercial success!

#1 Paan Singh Tomar

1 army officer+ 1 steeplechase gold medalist+ 1 bandit= 1 Paan Singh Tomar
Songs of the deprived and the downtrodden =  moolahs in bank & National Awards in drawing rooms!

#2 English Vinglish / Kahaani

[Ok, a combined second position for the women power 😀 ]
1 mentally subjugated + 1 physically incompetent =  Complementary in incompetency.
 Abla nari hai bechari’s (poor weak women) victory assured = financial profits restored! 
 
https://cinejuana.wordpress.com/2013/05/03/unconventional-bollywood-best-five-of-2012/

Unconventional Bollywood : Best Five of 2012!

#3 Gangs of Wasseypur (I, II)

Dubious existence + Dark desires + Dangerous life =  Underdogs day out !  
Optimum gratification of the  adrenaline =  producers buried under shekels !!

#4 Vicky Donor/ OMG – Oh My God!

(Yeah got it, sperm donation and religious devotion don’t go in the same breath, but still…)
1 tabooed topic + 1 controversial issue  =  Call for social justice.
Weaklings’ war  won =  commerce unlimited !!
 

 #5 Barfi!

1 deaf & dumb + 1 mentally challenged +Dollops of plagiarism inspiration= Creativity outburst!
Voicing the voice of the voiceless = loads of dibs and Oscar nomination !
 
 
[Actually 7 not 5… & I had tough time preparing the list as my weird whacky ideas kept disturbing me 😛   Please share your 2012 favourites . ] 
 
 

Please feel free to lash out or appreciate.

© Cinejuana

This entry was posted in Bollywood, Hindi Film, Indian Films and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Unconventional Bollywood : Best Five of 2012!

  1. I love the efforts you have put in this, thankyou for all the great blog posts.

  2. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something that I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

    • cinejuana says:

      Thank you so much for visiting the blog!
      Actually, its fairly easy if you know the story of the film(s) in context . I try to put in my observations without giving away the twists. But will keep your observation in mind next time I write a post 🙂

Leave a Reply

